Little Green Things

Warning: This is a short, pretty pictures post. Click on photos to enlarge and see the beauty of the close-up.

Fresh Garbanzo Beans

I found some little green things at the supermarket this week… I’m not sure what to do with them. Fresh garbanzo beans are supposed to be good pan-roasted and eaten with salt like edamame or boiled for 3 minutes and served in a salad. I just keep peeling and eating them. They taste like grass and springtime and… like edamame, really.

Piquin/Pequin Peppers

These are supposed to be little and mighty– some of the hottest peppers on the ol’ Scoville scale. Ranked at 40,000 – 58,000, they’re well above serrano and cayenne peppers. The only recipe I’ve seen so far is peppered vinegar. Aren’t they so pretty? They’re from Mexico and I imagine make excellent hot sauce.

Garbanzo bean outside the pod

I’d like to note that these two little green things shouldn’t be in the supermarket at the same time. Garbanzos are a spring bean and piquins are fall peppers. Hmm. I blame a combination of the gorgeous Houston fall weather and my own recent nuttiness for this shift in my produce universe. I will cook with these ingredients, study for exams, and hopefully by the end of the weekend all will be right with the world. If you have any ideas about what to do with these, give me a shout. The searches of my usual haunts haven’t turned up anything inspiring.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Little Green Things

  1. Ashley Grace

    What about trying to spice up a bottle of liquor? I’ve heard about people using peppers to infuse a bottle of vodka and making great bloody marys or other spicy drinks. What do you think?

  2. Kara Cook

    I have heard about people steaming the garbanzo beans and then tossing them with lime, salt, and chili powder. It sounds like it would be good. Also, if you have the garbanzo leaves, you can make a tea out of them and then add lime and tequila (apparently this is a real drink in Mexico…although it sounds like it would be better minus the garbanzo leaves).

Leave a Reply

