Homemade: Acorn Squash with Cornbread, Sausage and Apple Stuffing

Stuffed Acorn Squash

I know I said I’m working on exams, and I am, but I couldn’t help it, I just had to share this awesome dinner with everyone! There’s finally a touch of autumn in the Houston smog-air and we’ve been enjoying it by jogging in the cool mornings and taking lots of walks with the dog. I can even sit on the patio with a book without fear of being carried off by mosquitoes! As you may have noticed, squash of all kinds are available at the supermarkets this month: acorn, butternut, “decorative,” and pumpkin, to name a few  (although how anyone keeps a jack-o-lantern from rotting for an entire month is beyond me. Ya’ll make your jack-o-lanterns on October 25ish, right?) I’ve been on an eat more veggies kick, so I grabbed up some acorn and butternut squash during my last shopping trek. I already have a good recipe for butternut, but haven’t made acorn before. Apparently it’s perfectly good with cheese and butter, maple syrup and brown sugar, baked or microwaved– but I was interested in recipes that called for baking apples in the middle of them.

Sausage and cornbread stuffing-- this is going to change thanksgiving forever!

I was going to make something with apples, maple syrup, and brown sugar, but then today I found recipes where people were stuffing acorn squash with sausage and I couldn’t resist. I ended up cobbling together a stuffing out of 1 batch fresh cornbread, chopped and sauteed 1/2 an onion,1.5  apples and 1 hatch chile pepper (seeds removed), and 3 hot Italian sausages, casing removed, and cooked. I flavored the stuffing with 1/2 a cup of chicken stock, some sage, and some pepper. The idea for this recipe originally came from a recipe by Central Market for Hatch chile pepper stuffing— which is phenomenal. I baked the stuffing at 350 for half an hour, covered.

Apples and Acorn Squash

Acorn squash are a breeze, as are all squash. Once you cut a squash open, (which can be a harrowing experience depending on the size of the squash and the size and sharpness of your chef’s knife) it’s easy to peel and dice or just put cut side down on an oiled baking sheet and bake until done. And one acorn squash makes dinner for two! I baked the cut halves for 20 minutes alone, then turned them over and filled with stuffing and baked them for another 20. This was a filling dinner– I didn’t finish all of mine. It would be easy to make the stuffing separately and then bake and assemble the squash with stuffing on a busy night. I hope you’ll go check out the fall produce and make something awesome soon!

Just scoop out the seeds and bake for 40 minutes-- squash are easy.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Homemade: Acorn Squash with Cornbread, Sausage and Apple Stuffing

  1. DaDave

    Another hit! You’re writing is getting much “tighter” which I think means you’re gaining confidence in your own awesomeness.

  2. Kara Cook

    1) I totally want to make this with “veggie” sausage, which I am buying at the grocery store anyway so I can make veggie jambalaya.

    2) How do you make cornbread? Was there a post on this that I missed/forgot about? I wanna know!

    3) Would this be good if I added dried cranberries to it? Or some kind of nut?

    • Kara-
      1. Veggie sausage? I am intrigued but Josh would not be.
      2. I like the Jiffy corn muffin mix. It comes in a little box. It requires 1 egg, some milk, and 400 degrees.
      3. I think cranberries sound like an AWESOME addition– esp if you decide to go a sweeter route. You could even omit the onion.

  3. Noah Weatherford

    The veggie sausage and cranberries were great and the dish was a smashing hit! We had it last week and loved it so I had to go back to the store for more squash and am making it again tonight. Thanks.

  4. I love squash. This is one recipe I will add for sure. Yummy

Leave a Reply

