Small Bites and Highlights: Colorado Part 2

On the way to Boulder

As much as I enjoyed my trip to Denver a few weeks ago, I’ve been remiss in finishing my recollections from the trip. Here, I’d like to include a few good bites and experiences of the wedding and my visit to Boulder.

Bruschetta at Maggiano's

All the weeding food was satisfying and comforting, things you really crave when you’re away from home and living in a hotel for four days. The rehearsal dinner was held at Maggiano’s, a pretty popular location for parties, events, and rehearsals in Englewood. The food was good, the company was better. Much like any rehearsal dinner, the people and the thought that went into it made it a party. Each table included quotes about love and partnership as well as photographs from the couple’s 8+ years together. Everyone had a good time and ate a TON of food.The rehearsal is often thought of as the anti-climatic formality of a wedding, something to occupy in-laws. But I like the rehearsal dinner as a time for family and close friends and memories. It seems a rehearsal is a time to tell stories and relive old times before the big, new day.

Reception Decadence

The wedding itself was simple outdoor ceremony at the Cherokee Ranch Castle in Sedalia, CO. This place is a treasure. It was built high up on a hill overlooking a valley and across from some gorgeous mountains. It’s scenic, comfortable, and full of amazing antiques. I apologize for the lack of pictures, but I did have other duties while I was there. Upon realizing that the groomsmen were in one room playing cards while the bridesmaids were in a separate room playing cards, we all decided to get dressed early and take pictures in hopes of avoiding the impending rainstorm. Thankfully, the rain held off for the ceremony and we were able to celebrate in the courtyard overlooking the mountains. Afterward, we toasted, we laughed, we cried, we imbibed, and we danced. It was a touching and lovely wedding and I was so privileged to be a part of it.

With the gorgeous bride

On my final day in Colorado, my aunt took me to Boulder, CO for the Boulder Creek Festival. The festival was little bit of everything: performance, art, culture, activities, and businesses gathered together near the University of Colorado. Boulder is an adorable college town set in the foothills. The parts I saw were reminiscent of my old college haunts and I’m planning a return visit soon, perhaps next summer. The festival was nice and I was happy to spend time with my aunt, even though I was exhausted. I was bound and determined to eat pizza on my last day in CO and I got my wish at a very peculiar location.

Dushanbe Teahouse Interior

The Dushanbe Teahouse in Boulder was originally constructed in Tajikistan and shipped to Boulder, it’ sister city. Boulder, in turn, sent a cyber-cafe to the former Soviet Republic country. The interior is gorgeous with a hand painted ceiling, elaborately carved columns, and a small garden with statues in the center of “The Seven Beauties.” They serve a variety of teas as well as light, yummy foods perfect for lunch and breakfast. I ordered the most amazing pizza which I did not take pictures of. It was a thin crust pizza with spinach, roasted cherry tomatoes, caramelized onions, olive oil, goat cheese, and figs. Oh. My. Goodness. It looked a lot like this, but a little less populated by toppings. Wow. I was tired, I was cranky, I was in need of comfort food as breakfast at the hotel was not comforting. This cured my ills. I’m making it at home as soon as I figure out figs. They seem mysterious. If anyone knows about where to buy and how to know if they’re ripe, please share. I haven’t a clue and I am suffering due to lack of fig and goat cheese pizza in my life. This pizza provided me the emotional strength to take this photo later in the day:

Indeed, those are... Guitar Glasses

And that’s it folks. It was the best of times, it was the tiredest of times. But overall I got in some sightseeing beyond the airport and hotel, made friends, and enjoyed the hell out of my trip. I can’t wait to go back!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Small Bites and Highlights: Colorado Part 2

  1. Pingback: The Kitchen Table

Leave a Reply

