Lemonade Iced Tea

sweet!

We recently moved to the land of sweet tea. For those of you in northeastern Oklahoma or further north, this may be a rare find. Southern sweet tea is McAlister’s Deli strength or stronger and it’s served all around Houston. It’s the kind of sugar level that makes your teeth hurt while drinking it. I’m not sure know where I heard about  lemonade iced tea, but it’s very much a sweet tea. It’s an interesting idea and for a while I thought I had dreamed it up. But it does exist, though not many people seem to make it. I found this recipe from Southern Living and tweaked it for my own taste. Editorial note: Carrie pointed out that this drink was made famous by golfer Arnold Palmer, which is also another name for the drink. Thanks, Carrie!

Ingredients

  • 2 iced tea size tea bags.
  • 1/2 can thawed lemonade concentrate
  • 1/2 cup sugar

I boil 4 cups of water and place two tea bags to steep for 10-15 minutes. After steeping I remove the bags and dissolve 1/2 a cup of sugar in the tea. I pour the tea mixture and 1/2 can of lemonade concentrate into a pitcher and stir. Just put the rest back in the freezer for the next batch. I’m sure you could also use fresh squeezed lemonade if you want to avoid dreaded High Fructose Corn Syrup (HFCS). But you might have to play with water proportions for taste.

HFCS

After combining the tea and lemonade, add about 4 more cups of water- you want 8-9 cups water total because this stuff is sweeeeet. Chill the pitcher in the fridge for a few hours or, if you’re like me and can’t wait, pour over a bunch of ice and enjoy.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Lemonade Iced Tea

  1. Carrie

    Lemonade iced tea = Arnold Palmer

  2. Bea

    when hiking, Arizona tea has powder stix to add to your water in this taste (Arnold Palmer) is on the box.

  3. Carrie

    Wow! I feel famous! 🙂 Love the blog so far. Keep up the good work!

  4. Schaller

    I’ve discovered that if you want to turn this into an alcoholic drink for a lazy weekend afternoon, adding peach schnapps to southern style sweet tea gives you an amazing result. Although, I don’t think we had lemonade in the tea when we did that, but it will probably still taste good.

Leave a Reply

